Ecolabel of the Nordic countries

The Nordic Swan Ecolabel was introduced in 1989 by the Nordic Council of Ministers for the countries of Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Norway and Iceland. It is intended to make it easier for consumers to make (purchasing) decisions about environmentally sound products and services. The Nordic Swan Ecolabel is now awarded for 55 different types of products, each of which covers up to 200 different product types.

Since 1994, the Nordic Swan Ecolabel has been one of the founders of the international network for ecolabels according to ISO 14024 Type 1, GEN, the Global Ecolabelling Network.


Generally, the Nordic Swan Ecolabel criteria are revised every four years and adapted as necessary.

The Nordic Swan

  • sets strict environmental requirements at all relevant stages of a product’s life cycle
  • sets strict requirements for chemicals used in eco-labelled products
  • continuously tightens the requirements for goods and services in order to create sustainable development
  • certifies and verifies that all requirements are met before a product is approved.

Subject to change without notice; last updated 10 March 2023

« Back to overview


For the Nordic Swan Ecolabel, the following products can be tested by eco-INSTITUT*:
  • Chemical building products
  • Construction products
  • Floor coverings
  • Furniture and fitments

*Please note: The Nordic Swan Ecolabel is not awarded by the eco-INSTITUT itself. The eco-INSTITUT is an accredited emission testing laboratory according to ISO 16000 and DIN EN 16516 and is authorised to carry out these emission tests, which are recognised by the Nordic Swan.

eco-INSTITUT is your partner for:


Social Media