Evaluation scheme for VOC emissions from construction products

VOC emissions from construction products are an important cause of indoor air pollution.

Therefore, the Committee for Health-related evaluation of Building Products , founded in 1997, developed test criteria and – based on these criteria – the AgBB evaluation scheme for VOC emissions from construction products.

This so-called AgBB scheme is regularly reviewed and edited, the last time version was published in June 2021. From June 2022 the usage of version 2018 will not be allowed any more, till then there is a transition period of one year since June 2021.

The AgBB scheme is probably the most important European test scheme for product emissions and defines with its requirements the suitability of the tested products for indoor use (hazard prevention). With the evaluated parameters TVOC, TSVOC, VOC without LCI, C-substances and the R-value concept, it forms the basis for many voluntary test labels, such as the Blue Angel, GEV emicode, natureplus or the eco-INSTITUT-Label, which, however, with more extensive and in part stricter requirements based on a precautionary principle, represent a recommendation for low-emission indoor products also for more sensitive persons.

Based on the AgBB scheme, German Institute for Structural Engineering developed the “Approval principles for health-evaluation of indoor construction products” in 2004. These are crucial for obtaining the U mark for certain products as part of the national technical approval .

Since 2017, the contents of the AgBB scheme with the requirements for structural systems with regard to health protection (ABG) have been incorporated into the Model Administrative Regulation on Technical Building Regulations (MVV TB). (Further information on a voluntary expert opinion by DIBt can be found in the tab “Further links” and here) Indoor-relevant products should therefore be tested according to AgBB for use in Germany and comply with the requirements.

AgBB scheme takes into account DIN EN 16516 in conjunction with the ISO 16000 series of standards, which are globally pioneering for construction products, and is thus based on national and international requirements. Thus, products that meet the AgBB requirements are also recognised for use in international LEED building projects. AgBB tests can additionally be evaluated according to legal requirements (e.g. in France and/or Belgium) or for applying for voluntary test marks.   


Overview European limit values after 28 days

Substance / Limit value after 28 days AgBB 2021 Belgian VOC regulation 2014 French VOC regulation A+ 2011
TVOC ≤ 1,0 mg/m3 ≤ 1000 μg/m3 ≤ 1000 μg/m3
TSVOC ≤ 0,1 mg/m3 ≤ 100 μg/m3 not defined
Toloule ≤ 2900 μg/m3* ≤ 300 μg/m3 < 300 μg/m3
Formaldehyde ≤ 100 μg/m3* ≤ 100 μg/m3 < 10 μg/m3
Acetaldehyde ≤ 300 μg/m3* ≤ 200 μg/m3 < 200 μg/m3
CMR substances 1A & 1B ≤ 1 μg/m3 (only C substances) ≤ 1 μg/m3 ≤ 1 μg/m3 (CMR regulation)
R value ≤ 1 ≤ 1 ≤ 1
TVOC w/o LCI ≤ 0,1 mg/m3 not defined not defined

*) NIK, LCI, CLI


All information subject to change; last edited: 2nd July 2021

« Back to overview

 

Following the requirements of AgBB scheme the following products can be tested by eco-INSTITUT*:
  • Construction products
  • Floor coverings

*Please note: the tests following the AgBB scheme are labelled with a mark. eco-INSTITUT is DIBt approved testing, inspection and certification body and authorised to perform the respective AgBB tests.



eco-INSTITUT is your partner for:

Navigation

Social Media

Bewertungsschema für VOC-Emissionen aus Bauprodukten

VOC-Emissionen aus Bauprodukten sind eine wichtige Ursache für Verunreinigungen der Innenraumluft.

Daher erarbeitete der 1997 gegründete Ausschuss zur gesundheitlichen Bewertung von Bauprodukten ( AgBB ) Prüfkriterien und – auf Grundlage dieser Kriterien – das AgBB-Bewertungsschema für VOC-Emissionen aus Bauprodukten.

Das sogenannte AgBB-Schema wird regelmäßig überarbeitet und angepasst, die neuste Fassung erschien 2021. Ab Juni 2022 ist die Verwendung der Version 2018 nicht mehr zulässig. Bis dahin gilt seit Juni 2021 eine Übergangsfrist von einem Jahr.

Das AgBB Schema ist das wohl wichtigste europäische Prüfschema für Produktemissionen und definiert mit den Anforderungen eine Innenraumeignung der geprüften Produkte (Gefahrenabwehr). Es bildet mit den bewerteten Parametern TVOC, TSVOC, VOC ohne NIK, C-Stoffe und dem R-Wert-Konzept die Grundlage für viele freiwilligen Prüfzeichen, wie den Blauen Engel, GEV emicode, natureplus oder das eco-INSTITUT-Label, die jedoch mit umfangreicheren und z.T. strengeren Anforderungen aus einem Vorsorgeprinzip heraus eine Empfehlung für emissionsarme Innenraumprodukte auch für sensiblere Personen darstellen.

Auf Grundlage des AgBB-Schemas entwickelte das Deutsche Institut für Bautechnik 2004 die „Grundsätze zur gesundheitlichen Bewertung von Bauprodukten in Innenräumen“. Diese sind maßgeblich, um für bestimmte Produkte das Ü-Zeichen im Rahmen der allgemeinen technischen Zulassung (abZ) zu erlangen.

Seit 2017 wurden im Bauordnungsrecht Inhalte des AgBB-Schemas mit den Anforderungen an bauliche Anlagen hinsichtlich Gesundheitsschutz (ABG) in die Musterverwaltungsvorschrift technische Baubestimmungen (MVV TB)  übernommen. (Weitere Informationen zu einem freiwilligen Gutachten durch das DIBt finden Sie in dem Reiter „Weiterführende Links“ und hier)  Innenraumrelevante Produkte sollten für den Einsatz in Deutschland somit gemäß AgBB geprüft werden und die Anforderungen einhalten.

Das AgBB-Schema berücksichtigt die DIN EN 16516 in Verbindung mit den weltweit für Bauprodukte wegweisende Normenreihe der ISO 16000 und orientiert sich damit an nationalen und internationalen Anforderungen. So werden Produkte, die die AgBB-Anforderungen erfüllen, auch für den Einsatz in internationalen LEED-Bauprojekten anerkannt. AgBB-Prüfungen können zusätzlich gemäß rechtlicher Anforderungen (z.B. in Frankreich und/oder Belgien) oder für die Beantragung freiwilliger Prüfzeichen ausgewertet werden.   


Übersicht europäischer Grenzwerte nach 28 Tagen

Substanz / Grenzwert
AgBB 2021 Belgische VOC- Verordnung 2014 Französische VOC Verordnung (Klasse A+) 2011
TVOC ≤ 1,0 mg/m3 ≤ 1.000 μg/m3 ≤ 1.000 μg/m3
TSVOC ≤ 0,1 mg/m3 ≤ 100 μg/m3 nicht definiert
Toluol ≤ 2900 μg/m3* ≤ 300 μg/m3 < 300 μg/m3
Formaldehyd ≤ 100 μg/m3* ≤ 100 μg/m3 < 10 μg/m3
Acetaldehyd ≤ 300 μg/m3* ≤ 200 μg/m3 < 200 μg/m3
CMR-Stoffe 1A & 1B ≤ 1 μg/m3 (nur C-Stoffe) ≤ 1 μg/m3 ≤ 1 μg/m3 (CMR-Verordnung)
R-Wert ≤ 1 ≤ 1 nicht definiert
TVOC ohne NIK ≤ 0,1 mg/m3 nicht definiert nicht definiert

*) NIK, LCI, CLI


Alle Angaben ohne Gewähr; zuletzt aktualisiert am 30. Juni 2021

« Zur Übersicht

 

Nach den Anforderungen des AgBB-Schemas können vom eco-INSTITUT folgende Produkte geprüft werden*:
  • Bauprodukte
  • Bodenbeläge

*Bitte beachten Sie: Die Prüfungen nach dem AgBB-Schema werden nicht mit einem Label versehen. Das eco-INSTITUT  ist vom DIBt anerkannte Prüf-, Überwachungs- und Zertifizierungsstelle und daher berechtigt, nach den Kriterien des AgBB-Schemas zu prüfen.



Das eco-INSTITUT ist Prüflabor und Ansprechpartner für:

Navigation

Social Media